Nepal Travel Guide
Nepal: History
Nepal History Time Line
21st century
2007 2008 2013 2015
Nepal Information
Explore Nepal
21st Century

January 9, 2007: Interim Constitution
The ruling seven-party alliance SPA and the Maoists agreed to promulgate the interim constitution on January 15, 2007.

January 11, 2007: Interim Paliament
Top leaders of the four major political parties reached an agreement to share the remaining 48 seats in the interim legislature-parliament among the seven-party alliance and the CPN-Maoist. According to the understanding reached during a meeting held at the Prime Minister's official residence at Baluwatar, the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist will get 10 seats each, Nepali Congress (Democratic) six, while Nepal Sadbhavana Party (Anandi Devi), Nepal Workers' and Peasants' Party, Janamorcha Nepal and United Left Front will get three seats each out of the 48 seats, initially allocated for civil society.

April 2, 2007: Maoists join the interim government
The former Maoist rebels were sworn into a new interim government, in a major step forward for a peace process that ended a decade of civil war.

June 13, 2007: Electoral bills passed. Elections announced for Nov. 22, 2007.

August 3, 2007: Nepal uneils new national anthem

September 18, 2007: Maoists quit the interim government
The Maoists quit the government and launch the first phase of their so called "street revolt". The CPN (M) will boycott the Nov 22 elections.

December 24, 2007: Seven-Party Alliance and Maoists reached agreement to abolish the monarchy
The Seven-Party Alliance has reached a 23-point agreement. Many of the commitments in the new agreement have been made before: release of payments to Maoist combatants, discharge of those disqualified in verification by UNMIN, and deliberations in the special committee to consider the supervision, integration and rehabilitation of the Maoist combatants.
A commitment was made to a federal democratic republic and the modification of the electoral system.

December 28, 2007: Interim Parliament voted to abolish Nepal's monarchy
Out of 321 parliamentarians, 270 voted for the abolition of the monarchy and three voted against. The rest were absent or abstained.

December 30, 2007: Maoists rejoin Nepal government
Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala appointed five Maoist leaders as ministers to portfolios that Maoists had held before they quit the interim cabinet on 18 September 2007.


April 10, 2008: Constituent Assembly Election 2008:

Nepal votes in historic election

The Chief Election Commissioner has stated after the close of polls that on its current information the Election Commission's initial estimate is of a 60 per cent voter turnout, and that it has cancelled polls in 33 out of the more than 20,000 polling centres.

see also CA Election 2008

May 28, 2008: Declaration of Nepal as a federal democratic republic
Nepal has become the world's newest federal democratic republic, ending 240 years of monarchy. The Constituent Assembly (CA) meeting in Kathmandu voted to abolish royal rule. 560 out of 564 CA members voted for a republic and against the monarchy.

June 11, 2008: The former king of Nepal, Gyanendra, has left Narayanhiti palace in the heart of Kathmandu. Mr Shah, Ex-king Gyanendra's name as ordinary citizen of the republic of Nepal, has announced that he would not leave the country and go into exile.

July 21, 2008: Nepal's first President: The Constituent Assembly elected Dr Ram Baran Yadav as the first President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, in a secret ballot. Dr Yadav is General Secretary of the Nepali Congress Party.

August 15, 2008: Nepal's first Prime Minister: Members of the parliament have elected the CPN-Maoist leader Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) as the first Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nepal.


November 19, 2013

Constituent Assembly Election 2013

Nepal hold its 2nd Constituent Assembly election on November 19th, 2013.

The pre-election monitoring also took to various districts of thecountry followed by the monitoring inmore than 850 polling booths of66 districts during the CA election 2013.

see also CA Election 2013



June 8, 2015

Agreement on a new constitution for Nepal

The destructive earthquake on April 25, 2015, cleared the way for the political parties to forge consensus on the contentious issues. The parties reached the long-awaited agreement after a series of dialogues and renegotiations.

The major political parties signed a 16-point agreement on the main topics of the new constitution.

The Agreement is a major milestone in the country's democratic development. This achievement is particularly laudable as it was reached amid challenging circumstances caused by the major earthquakes of April and May 2015.

September 20, 2015

Nepal adopts new constitution

Nepal's President Ram Baran Yadav announced the adoption of the constitution during a Constituent Assembly meeting. The new constitution is the first to be drafted by elected representatives.

Some ethnic minorities like the Tharu und the Terai-Madhes (Madhesi) communities, mainly from Nepal's southern Terai plains, are deeply unhappy at the proposed boundaries of the new provinces.

more information
Ethnic Groups of Terai Region
Nepal's people: Major Ethnic Groups
Nepal's Ethnic Groups Map
the Terai's Madhesi people
Elections in Nepal 2013
Madhesi Map