Nepal Elections
Election 2008
Election 2008 Overview
Results FPTP+PR
Results FPTP
Results PR
Observation Reports Facts
Election 2008 Electoral Systems
Election 2008 Links
Constituent Assembly Election 2008: Results
" >
FPTP + PR Results PR Results FPTP Results
Parties' Seats Percentage Election 2008 Electoral Systems Election information
First-past-the-post (FPTP) Proportional Representation (PR)


Constituent Assembly Election 2008 - Results
First-Past-the-Post (FPTP) & Proportional Representation (PR) - 575 seats


Constituent Assembly Election 2008: Information

11 April 2008
UNMIN First post-Election Statement

11 April 2008
Nepal 's Election Commission (EC) has declared that re-polling will be required in at least 60 polling stations, from over 20,000 stations, across the country. Stations affected are from 16 constituencies in ten districts.

The Chief Election Commissioner has stated after the close of polls that on its current information the Election Commission's initial estimate is of a 60 per cent voter turnout, and that it has cancelled polls in 33 out of the more than 20,000 polling centres. 95% of all votes cast were valid.

Results for all the 240 constituencies are expected over the next 10 days.

12 April 2008
The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights Louise Arbour congratulated the people of Nepal on Thursday's elections for a Constituent Assembly, which she described as a crucial advance in the country's historic transition, and one that should have a very positive long-term impact on the human rights of its citizens.

'Elections for a Constituent Assembly that will be responsible for drafting a new constitution are a major stride towards a new future in Nepal in which the rights of all people - including historically marginalized communities - are respected,' Arbour said. The High Commissioner particularly welcomed the reportedly large and enthusiastic participation of women in the election.

'I congratulate the authorities for their success so far in holding a largely peaceful election process despite the difficult circumstances. And I trust that all the political parties in Nepal will accept the decision of the electors, whatever it may be.'

The High Commissioner said she was deeply saddened by a number of deaths that occurred during the run up to the election and on Election Day itself. She extended her condolences to the families concerned, and encouraged the Government to act quickly to set up an independent inquiry to investigate the circumstances surrounding the deaths.

17 April 2008
Nepal's Election Commission announced results in the first-past-the-post (FPTP) race had been declared in 220 constituencies, including some where re-polling had taken place. Votes are still being counted in 7 constituencies

Meanwhile in the proportional representation (PR) race results had been declared in 143 constituencies and counting is underway in 82. Re-polling was conducted in 9 constituencies today, while votes were counted from re-polling held earlier this week in 7 others. The EC expects that re-polling in all 21 constituencies (98 polling stations, 12 districts) will be completed by Saturday 19 April 2008.

23 April 2008
The EC published in a press statement a range of facts on the final results for the first-past-the-post vote. The total number of candidates for FPTP was 3,946. Among those, 3,157 candidates (80 percent) did not receive 10 per cent of the total number of votes cast in their respective constituencies, and their deposits shall be forfeited. The most number of votes were cast in Dolpa, Humla (in the did-western mountains), 80 percent, and Kathmandu-10, at 77 per cent. The least number of votes were cast in Manang (in the western mountains), at 40 per cent. Among the elected candidates, the oldest were: female - Suprabha Ghimire (66 years, Nepali Congress, Kathmandu-4); male - Kul Bahadur Gurung (73 years, Nepali Congress, Ilam-3). And the youngest elected candidates were: female - Durga Kumari BK (26 years, CPN (Maoist), Kaski-4); male - Abhishek Pratap Sah (25 years,MPRF, Kapilvastu-5).
Source: UNMIN

25 April 2008
Nepal's Election Commission announced the number of seats allocated to political parties after tabulation of the proportional representation vote. At an interaction event at the Commission's Kathmandu headquarters, all five Election Commissioners attended to brief party representatives, members of election observer groups and the media on the election results and the process parties must now undergo to select candidates for the PR seats.

The EC announced that 11,146,540 votes were cast under the PR system, with 10,739,078 valid votes. This represented more than 63 percent turnout.

A total of 25 parties shared the 335 PR seats.

Chief Election Commissioner Bhoj Raj Pokharel announced that the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) won 100 seats under the PR system, while Nepali Congress and Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist-Leninist) received 73 and 70 seats respectively. The fourth and fifth largest share of seats went to two Terai-based parties - Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (22) and Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party (11).
Source: UNMIN

10 May 2008
Nepal's Election Commission announced the final list of candidates nominated to the Constituent Assembly through the proportional representation (PR) race. These candidates will occupy 335 of 601 seats in the assembly. Of the remaining seats, 240 will be filled by candidates elected directly through the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system and 26 will be filled by members appointed by the Council of Ministers.

A total of 25 political parties shared the PR seats, with the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) securing the largest number, 100, followed by the Nepali Congress with 73 and the Communist Party of Nepal (United Marxist-Leninist) with 70. The Madhesi People's Rights Forum and the Terai Madhes Democratic Party secured 22 and 11 seats respectively.

Constituent Assembly Election 2008: Top party leaders elected
Constituency Name Party Gender
Kathmandu Hisila Yami (Bhattarai) Communist Party of Nepal (Maoists) F
Kathmandu Pushpa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) Communist Party of Nepal (Maoists) M
Gorkha Baburam Bhattrai Communist Party of Nepal (Maoists) M
Rautahat Madhav Kumar Nepal Communist Party of Nepal (U.M.L.) M


Elections in Nepal
External link
Nepal Government
Election Commission
National Election
Observation Committee